top of page
Writer's pictureKellushia Chung

15 Things I Stopped Buying To Save Money And Waste

This post is perfect for you if you want to save money , declutter toxins to better your health and keep your environment clean, safe and pure.


Home ♡



No One Is Perfect

I too am not perfect, while sustainable living looks different for everyone there is no judgement here.


The main idea is to avoid mindless consumerism ( in other words mindless fast fashion and fast everything) this list will help you purchasing fewer things that are higher quality and created sustainably.


Why? :

  • You will become a conscious consumer, buying only things you truly need.

  • You will save a lot of money because you will purchase & need less stuff.

  • You will feel happier and more fulfilled, as you will:

1) live in alignment with your values

2) your choices won’t hurt our planet or your health

3) you will live a clutter-free, healthy life.



Remember there are no strict rules to this list it is only here to guide you and being a

conscious consumer.


I am not perfect occasionally I might buy a few of these things, there is so much to this journey and I just want you to known that this is a journey for me too and there is always areas for improvement for me.


So lets get into 30+ things i stopped buying to save money and waste.



Please do not for get to share this list with a friend because the goal is to get as much humans to start living sustainable. #teamzerowaste




Beauty


1.Cotton Pads


This was in fact too much waste there would be times I wipe my face using 5+ and dumping them but really a cloth can do the job saving me money and doing the job even better



2. Face or body scrubs

I use to buy a face and body scrub every other day I am not sure if it's just the look of the bottle but I did unfortunately squandered my money. The store-bought face or body scrubs are in plastic tubes and often filled with nasty ingredients.

I started to DIY my own some of my favorite ingredients are : sugar, coffee, lemon, honey and vitamin E Oil.

3. Face masks

Face masks comes in plastic and have a lot of questionable ingredients. My favorite DIY face mask is usually with clay.

I normally mix the clay with water or vinegar and it works great!


4. Nail polish


Nail polish is known for it's disgusting toxic scent and can be absorbed in the nail bed. Because I want to reduce this I no longer buy nail polish unless I have to I typically choose 1 color and stick to that one. If I need another color or run out I borrow from a friend or family member or buy 1-2 other color I would need for a long time.


Household


5. Several Cleaning products


These are just my opinion and I really don't think you need several different types of house hold cleaning products. Think about it cleaning products have a lot of horrible chemicals and in order to limit toxins, you don't need those fancy graphic cleaning products to get the job done you.


You can clean your house with a simple DIY solutions you can easily make or buy here of choose companies that will do it for you like grove.co. I do remember we are trying to save money and this is also a less expensive way. They have glass cleaning containers and sustainable cleaning solutions that are also great for the environment.



6. Ziplock Bags


I know when you are in a rush this seem to be the best option for you but it is a waste in fact that is single use plastic.


Instead try these Reusable Ziplock bags



7. Air freshener


These aren’t the most natural ones, and if you want fresh air, you can add a few essential oil drops in a bottle, with some water, and spray around.


When people use air fresheners, the phthalates are released into the air where they may be inhaled or may land on the skin and be absorbed. Once these chemicals enter the bloodstream, they can alter hormone levels and cause other health problems.



Personal



8. Body wash

Majority of body washes come in a plastic bottles, and it just adds additional clutter to your bathroom if you already have a bunch of things.


Use a bar of soap, it works perfectly fine, and you can find incredible natural, plastic-free, and cheap options or DIY your self.


9. Shampoo and conditioner bottles

Again, you can substitute the bottles with shampoo and conditioner bars or if you like the liquid shampoo and conditioner try buying some reusable containers so each time you run. out you don't have to dispose those bottle you can rinse them out and refil.


Pro Tip: Sustainable living comes with a lot of DIY-ing you will become more creative than ever so create some pretty labels on canvas

10. Shaving cream

A regular bar of soap will do the job perfectly fine, too, so no need for shaving creams try natural oils like coconut oil and or vitamin e oil after you will feel and look even better.


11. Plastic razors

Instead of buying plastic single-use razors every few weeks, you can get a stainless steel safety razor and use it for… well, technically forever, if you take good care of it.

The only thing you will need to change every couple of weeks is the super cheap razor blades.



12. Face powder and foundation

I used to get these once in a while, but I almost stopped (now it’s something like once in 2-3 years?). However, if you like such products, use all of it before purchasing a new one. Also, find more natural and eco-friendly brands, which will most likely be better for your skin.



13. Frozen food


It might be convenient, but it is always in plastic packaging and it is not healthy, so I prefer to buy fresh produce. I always end up making a yummy delicious hot meal any ways.


14. Extra kitchen items


Keeping a full kitchen clean can be challenging. By getting the items you truly need will help you keep your kitchen organized and ascetically pleasing.

Having less but only what you need will reduces the use of water because you will have less stuff to wash. You will have a clean organized and spacious kitchen.



15. Paper towels



Paper towel can be convenient however it can be a big waste. Try using reusable cloth towels. You can get nice designs to make your home look welcoming and can also save you money and reduce waste. If you want to be creative like me you can make reusable cloth towels from an old t-shirt or a towels.


If you really think about it there are so many things sitting in our homes that will won't ever use again until its time to declutter. Think about how clean and mind pleasing your home can be if you have less of those stuff you though you need.


10 views

Commentaires


bottom of page