top of page
Writer's pictureKellushia Chung

I Stink At Creating Content For Social Media But Here Is What Helped Me

Updated: Aug 13, 2021

When I was just starting my business I thought I knew it all yes there I said it!

I understand if you are about to judge me at this point but the thought of having my own business sparked something in me and that made me happy.

I spend a lot of time creating my products sleepless night and so much more.



But I did not realize I was spending little to no time on my social media which eventually lead to 0 sales.

I would be so caught to with my amazing handmade products I became so over whelmed at the end of the day I did not even had the time to create content. By the time I was ready to take pictures of my products and create content it was already night : ( I would be so caught to with my amazing handmade products I became so over whelmed at the end of the day I did not even had the time to create content. By the time I was ready to take pictures of my products and create content it was already night : ( . This eventually led to a fully stocked shop with no sales and customers. I never thought I would say this out loud but “content matters” I decided to take my digital skills into my own hands , I was a small business owner with little to no money and was not about to pay a freelancer. The solution… This was when I met canva so mr Canva has changed my life right. This software was perfect for me as a beginning designer. I knew nothing about designing but this site had over 10000 ready made templates everything was pretty much drag and drop and this was especially great for my business. Some of the of the amazing features : Logo designs- While I love to support designers and their amazing creativity - we are a small business and we are trying to go the cheaper way …right? Back ground remover - Listen as a starter I did not know how to even take good product pictures and I was able to remove the crazy background that I had most of the time. Brand kit- This is great because you do not have to constantly be selecting different fonts and colors that eventual won’t create an eye catching appealing brand. and oh yes branding is everything ! Templates- I was extremely worried when special holidays would come around and I have ) time to put anything together. Canva was always up-to date I could always count on them they would have. the latest session template at the top of there website so if I ever wanted to announce a sale it was nice and easy. There are so many different business and influencers out there and being unique is key to a successful brand. Don’t just copy content trends or what’s been successful for others Obviously, if you’re creating content that other people have already created, you aren’t going to stand out. And that’s the whole point of this blog post Share things that others aren’t sharing Trust me if a customer see that you are unique they will keep coming back because its not what you sell or how you sell it at the point, its how you allow your personality to shine through your content. Believe it or not your audience want to feel like they are special they dont want to know that because every body is doing it you are too that will make them even more confused and end up not buying or supporting you at all. When you do your research, you’ll realize quickly that a lot of people are sharing the exact same thing over and over and over So you need to find the gaps. What aren’t they talking about that you can? For me, this took a long time to understand. I was sharing the same things everyone else was sharing. We have to force our self to think differently. PRO TIP: If you’re really stuck, try sharing things that are only personal to you. Like stories. No one else can share the experiences you’ve been through like you. So use them to your advantage. Ask your audience what they want to see I have heard this many times but felt like I know everything and did not listen until now. If you are in anyway trying to grow and monetize your audience you need to find out who is on your platform and who exactly you have on there. Ask them what they want! You can do this various ways one quick and easy way to do this is to poll your social media sorries. People will be able to interact immediately and while boosting your engagement it will surly get you answers. Simple, right? Honestly, it’s a bit too simple. But I’m telling you, this will make a HUGE difference in helping you to stand out online. Often times, influencers create content that either they want to share or they think their audience wants to see. At times when I became inconsistent my stock photo membership with Color-joy Stock helped me out alot as going back and forth to my 9-5 and creating content can be so hectic. Consider a stock photpo membership. The one I recommend for Diverse stock imagery for women building better brands is Colorjoystock.com PRO TIP: Ask your audience more questions about their current situation and why they view your content. That will give you the insight you need to create more amazing content for them. MORAL OF THE STORY… Be yourself and do something different. It’s easier said than done. I know. But if you’re just getting started, the best thing you can do is practice. Keep creating content every week. The more you create the better you will get. And over time, you’ll make a big splash in the influencer world. I know it! So that’s it for today’s super inspirational blog post about how to stand out in the big sea of influencers. Let me know what you do to stand out in the comment section below. And I’ll see ya back here soon! Love Kelle




8 views

Comments


bottom of page