top of page
Writer's pictureKellushia Chung

10 Amazing Health Benefits Of Living With House Plants

Updated: Sep 8, 2021

I am scared of bugs and that was the first thing that came to mind when I heard about house plants. But there was a time in my life when I needed more nature around me. Living in New York and having snow must of the time I just did not feel as connected as I should be with nature so I took house plants into consideration.


Who knew they are the best thing ever!


If you ever thought about investing in house plants but still can't come to conclusion here are



10 health benefits from living with house plants.



My favorite is golden pathos🍃


 

Living with not just my favorite plants but many other amazing ones I get this questions all the time so today I am going to share with you these benefits that can help you on making your decision about investing in house plants.


Plants are awesome!


They have a strong mood enhancing power that will improve your mood but that is not the only benefit of having house plants.


House plants have a proven ability to improve air quality, sleep, focus and mental health. They also lower background noise, help prevent illnesses, reduce stress and help with healing.



Indoor plants may help reduce stress levels


Besides the tons of research proving that the presence of plants reduce stress levels, I can truly tell it reduce my stress levels. Being angry around my plants make me feel bad because I know plants feed of it’s owner or people around it energy, and I don't want my plants to die so while I am there stressed and exhausted naturally I want nurture my plants which then distract me and make me happy to see them growing health.


Real Plants may sharpen your attention

I was one of the many who would go to stores and when I see an artificial plant I think it's cute and persuaded into thinking it’s better than real plants but its a Scam!


I no longer waste money on artificial plants Instead 3 -4 plants last me longer and has way more benefits than just have it for decor.


Working with plants can be therapeutic

I talk to my plants. I talk to them a lot too you will be surprise how much they grow when you do I don't know if it is a myth or what but having these little buddies - I never feel alone and I always have company. They also became a sort of responsibly for me so I spend less time on social media and more time on my actual well being and relaxation.



Plants may help you recover from illness faster


Base on healthline.com being able to look at plants and flowers may speed your recovery from an illness, injury, or surgery.

A 2002 review of the research revealed that people recuperating from several kinds of surgery needed less pain medication and had shorter hospital stays than people who weren’t looking at greenery during their recovery periods.

It’s important to note that most research focuses on plants and natural scenery in hospital settings rather than at home.


Plants May Boost Your Productivity

Having plants are a responsibility you don’t just buy them and they look nice for decoration and taking care of you plant will now be on your to-do list and on your morning routine. The only difference is , your plants are alive and needs to be taken care of.


For example: If you buy a new plant you know you have to water it in the mornings so when you wake up instead of strolling mindlessly on instagram you wake up and start your morning routine one which will include watering your plant. Having a plant is like having a dog, you have to walk the dog and by doing that you get exercise :)



Plants may improve the quality of indoor air


This is so important and plays a huge role in why I choose to invest in house plants. Earlier in this post I mentioned living in New York. States that have snow 90% oof the time people are indoors and especially a compact urban city with no much trees/ parks we are not exposed to enough trees for the best quality of air most of our lives.


Having the best air quality can change your life drastically and having house plants can be a great starter. I can also feel the nice humid air in the middle of the night because of my plants and walking to the bathroom or kitchen is just much more joyful than before. #houseplants









Other things to consider


  • plants remove VOCs and add oxygen to the air, thereby improving the air quality of your home (it is debatable as to the amount that this occurs with only a few plants in a large room)

  • plants can reduce the amount of background noice making a more serene environment

  • plants can reduce stress

  • plants in a home office can increase productivity and focus

  • plants in your bedroom can help you sleep better with specific fragrances, improved humidity and mood altering visual appeal

  • plants can speed up recovery after a surgery or illness

  • plants can help boost your immunity and prevent illnesses

  • plants are very nutritious and can boost immunity

  • plants can improve your mental health by helping to get you off your screen, take a break from daily stresses and give you a slower pace and something else to take care of.


I made this post relatively short and spicy for you. Now I am interested in hearing if you have chosen to invest in your first house plant.


I know It is another responsibility but trust me it will be for an amazing cause you will see a lot of difference in your whole well being.


Don't for get to comment :)

34 views

1 Comment


scarlett
Sep 08, 2021

I love plants thank you for share I have always just have them in my home because I think they look pretty but I am even happier to know these amazing benefit. I will definitely be getting more.

Like
bottom of page