top of page
Writer's pictureKellushia Chung

4 Beauty Hacks that Reduce Food Waste

In today's blog, I wanted to give you some zero waste beauty recipes for self care, some of which include repurposing food that otherwise would go to waste.


DIY is fun and it comes with this the zero waste lifestyle. You will be surprise how many amazing things you can create by the time you are in the middle of your sustainable lifestyle journey.


Waste is not waste until it is wasted. - (unknown)

I have been using theses in my beauty routine for a very long time and they have been working miricales for my skin. Even though these food might be sitting around in your home for months think about it... what percentage are they likely to be wasted?


These items can be things you buy every week which not only provide amazing benefits for your skin with tons of nutritious elements that can be injected but also applied to the skin for amazing benefits.



1. Turmeric face mask


Turmeric is one of those thing sitting in or cupboard for what months here this beauty hack turmeric can be used to make face mask. Turmeric contains antioxidants and anti-inflammatory components. These characteristics may provide glow and luster to the skin. Turmeric may also revive your skin by bringing out its natural glow.



I add a quarter of a teaspoon of turmeric apple cider vinegar for its antibacterial and purifying properties, and 1 tablespoon of vegetable milk for its moisturising properties. I apply it on my face for a purifying and illuminating zero waste mask

Let sit for about 10 minutes.


Later on I will tell you to how to make a easy oat cleanser to wash your turmeric mask off.




2. Coconut coffee body scrub



Body scrub is on of those beauty product that our body needs every once in a while too make our skin smooth and moisturized. Instead of spending a extra bucks on another plastic container filled with unwanted chemicals try this easy DIY with just as much antioxidant and moisturizing properties to make your skin glow.


This coconut coffee scrub DIY is so easy to do, it only takes 2 ingredients: coffee and coconut! To prepare it, I mix the 1 tablespoon of coconut oil with 1 teaspoon of brewed coffee grounds


I like apply it on my body in a small quantity so not to clog the sink just before taking a shower. The result is a super soft and silky skin!




3. Sweet almond & sugar scrub


I also like to mix 1 tablespoon of sweet almond oil with 1 teaspoon of cane sugar. This scrub is perfect as a lip scrub or body scrub instead of the coffee & coconut. Apply in the shower :)


Shortly after that I use my home made lip balm let me know if you would be interested in the recipe here



4. Oat pulp face cleanser


First, I prepare the oat milk. To prepare the oat milk, you need 1 cup of ground oats, and 4 cups of water. I then blend them all and then strain them with a clean pair of tights or stockings, as I don't have a cheesecloth, which you can use if you have it. You can also strain it twice to obtain a smoother milk


It's with the leftover pulp that I prepare the cleanser. I also freeze any pulp in excess to use for my next mask!


Now to make the oat pulp cleanser.


Add 1 tablespoon of oat pulp in a bowl. To this, I add a quarter of a teaspoon of jojoba oil, and half teaspoon of rhassoul clay or any clay you like. I then mix everything together to obtain a paste.


I hope you enjoyed these recipe, do let me know which one would you try first in the comments below and let me know if you have a particular mask you normally make you'd like to share.




0 views

Bình luận


bottom of page